將軍澳海水化淡廠

海水化淡技術與原理

海水化淡是一種水處理技術,其原理是利用能源把存在於海水中的鹽份及雜質隔離,從而將海水轉化為可飲用的淡水。


兩種主要的海水化淡技術與原理


薄膜海水化淡

逆滲透法是海水化淡最常見的處理技術之一. 其原理主要為:

  1. 自然滲透: 在半透膜兩側分別為淡水及含鹽類之溶液。在自然定律下,溶液會通過半透膜由較低濃度(清水)移動至較高濃度(鹽水)的一邊。
  2. 滲透平衡: 淡水通過半透膜,直到膜兩側化學勢能達到平衡為止。當兩側之壓力差等於滲透壓時,溶液就會達到平衡狀。
  3. 逆滲透: 若在鹽水一側施以大於滲透壓之壓力時,鹽水之化學勢能會高於清水,從而使鹽水中之水份,通過半透膜流向清水側,此種現象即稱為逆滲透。
薄膜海水化淡圖

熱能海水化淡

熱能海水化淡的原理是利用高溫蒸餾海水,繼而把沸騰而不含鹽份的水蒸汽冷凝並收集而達至化淡效果。熱能海水化淡可分三種: 1) 多級閃化法, 2) 蒸汽壓縮法, 和3) 多效蒸餾法. 而其中又以多級閃化法最為常見。

多級閃化法

多級閃化法運用蒸餾的原理,把海水中的水份轉變成蒸汽與海水中的鹽份分離。然後再把蒸汽冷凝後即可製得淡水,並以此方法重複若干次來增加效率。多級閃的好處是產量較大,但由於需要大量能源,所以主要為中東產油國所採用。

熱能海水化淡圖

Tseung Kwan O Desalination Plant

What is desalination and how does it work?

Desalination removes dissolved salts and impurities from seawater and turns it into fresh, drinking quality water.


Image of two major types of technologies for desalination


MEMBRANE DESALINATION

Reverse Osmosis (RO) Principle

  1. The process starts with equal volumes of fresh water and saline water.
  2. Natural Osmosis: A natural phenomenon where fresh water migrates from higher water potential (the fresh water side) to lower water potential (the brine water side) through the semi permeable membrane.
  3. Osmotic Equilibrium: As fresh water passes through the semi-permeable membrane, the levels of the two solutions become unequal resulting in different pressure. The difference in pressure eventually brings migration to a stop. This pressure is called osmotic pressure.
  4. Reverse Osmosis: A process of applying excessive pressure to force water from the brine water through a semi-permeable membrane to the fresh water side (Desalination).
Reverse Osmosis (RO) Principle

THERMAL DESALINATION

Thermal methods use heat to distill water while recapturing heat from vapour condensation. Thermal desalination mainly consists of 3 types, namely 1) Multi-Stage Flash (MSF), 2) Vapour Compression (VC) and 3) Multiple Effect Distillation (MED). MSF is the most commonly used in desalination technology out of the three.

Multi-Stage Flash (MSF) Principle

Seawater is heated and evaporated, and the steam is condensed to produce desalinated water. The evaporation and condensation is split into many stages that are repeated several times, increasing overall efficiency. MSF is an energy intensive process, but it can produce large amount of water at any one time and therefore is almost exclusively used in Arabian Gulf region where fuel cost is relatively lower.

Image of Multi-Stage Flash (MSF) Principle